Preview Cart Checkout

Become a Member

Join Today!

 
 
Willa Cather Foundation - Red Cloud Nebraska (NE)
 
 
 

Receive our Newsletter

 
 

Willa Cather Foundation Events

Willa Cather Foundation Events

The Willa Cather Foundation holds a variety of events in Red Cloud annually, including several Opera House performances and gallery exhibitions, our Spring Conference, and the Prairie Writers' Workshop. A biennial International Cather Seminar and periodic symposia are also held in other locales that were relevant to Cather's life and work. Check this page often to see our upcoming events, conferences, workshops, seminars, and exhibitions. Don't forget the easiest way to keep up with our activities is to sign-up for our monthly electronic newsletter.

Horizontal Tabs

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
Art Gallery
Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - 9:00am to Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 5:00pm
“Wandering Spirit: African Wax Prints” documents the history and development of handmade designs and patterns on textiles that originated in Indonesia and were exported to Africa.
Spring Conference
Thursday, June 4, 2020 to Saturday, June 6, 2020
Join us as we embrace innovation and offer our Spring Conference digitally for the very first time.
Art Gallery
Friday, July 10, 2020 - 9:00am to Wednesday, September 9, 2020 - 5:00pm
"Picture This" by Hastings-area artist Sammy Lynn features creative work in the media of batik, pencil, and pastels.
Nebraska Chamber Players
Opera House
Saturday, July 18, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Nebraska Chamber Players present the winner of the Willa Cather Chamber Ensemble Competition in a work based on Cather’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel "One of Ours".
Opera House
Friday, July 31, 2020 - 5:30pm to Saturday, August 1, 2020 - 2:00pm
Journey with fun-loving Hobgoblins to the “land of colored ice” as they tell the heart-warming tale of a young girl and her quest to find her best friend.
Garan Coons is a versatile Native American entertainer.
Opera House
Friday, September 11, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Through music, dance, and storytelling, Garan Coons, a professional entertainer of the Oglala Lakota and Navajo tribes, offers a magnificent educational experience for all ages.
Kevin and Heidi Cheng violin-piano duo
Opera House
Friday, October 23, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Popular area performers Kevin and Heidi Cheng team up on violin and our Steinway grand piano for a memorable evening of music making!
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred Taylor
Opera House
Friday, November 6, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
A classic novel set in Depresssion-era Mississippi is adapted for stage and presented by The Ensemble Theatre of Houston, TX.
Thursday, November 12, 2020 to Sunday, November 15, 2020
Join us in Taos, New Mexico, for a 3-day, 3-night excursion, November 12–15, 2020! We’ll explore the beautiful mountain town and the best of its historic and arts offerings, while...
Lemon Fresh Day
Opera House
Friday, December 11, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Enjoy a playlist that spans five decades and covers nearly every genre of music imaginable. Sing and dance to Lemon Fresh Day!

Pages

Past Events
Past Events
Opera House
Saturday, February 29, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Blackberry Winter takes concert-goers on a memorable musical trip to the iconic 1960s and 1970s. This band delivers classic rock with high-energy creativity.
Friday, February 14, 2020 to Sunday, February 16, 2020
Book a cozy winter weekend with our special Valentine's Day package at the Cather Second Home Guest House
Artwork by Lincoln gallery owner Julia Noyes
Art Gallery
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 - 9:00am to Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 5:00pm
An exhibit opening reception will take place for Lincoln artist Julia Noyes on Saturday, February 29, from 5:30-7:00 p.m., with artist remarks at 6:30 p.m.
Opera House
Friday, January 31, 2020 -
7:30pm to 9:15pm
Whey Jennings, the grandson of country music legend Waylon Jennings, plays the music of his famous grandfather while forging his own unique musical identity.
"Tripping in the Model T" by Amy Tomasevicz
Art Gallery
Monday, January 13, 2020 to Friday, February 7, 2020
The winning entries in the Association of Nebraska Art Clubs' 2019-20 Conference competition feature a range of color and media.
Opera House
Saturday, December 14, 2019 -
10:30am to 12:15pm
Free screening of Toy Story 4! Woody, Buzz Lightyear, and the rest of the gang embark on a road trip with Bonnie and a new toy named Forky.
Opera House
Friday, December 6, 2019 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm
Silver bells are ringing at this seasonal stand-up performance. Your ticket purchase includes heavy hors d'oeuvres. Purchase deadline is Saturday, November 30.
Friday, December 6, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019
Book a combo weekend performance and tour package in "Cather Country"!
Friday, November 15, 2019 to Sunday, November 17, 2019
Book a combo weekend performance and tour package in "Cather Country"!

Pages